Bag of Comics #1

Comics take up a small fraction of my life now. Years ago, I was spending more than $100 each month on comics. Now, since I’m only following 10 series, I spend less than $30 a month. In order to save more money, I ship all my comic book orders at the end of the month. The picture above are the comic books that were released in August.

Since I’m too lazy to write a full review of all the comic books I just read, I’m gonna do a quickie of the top 3 that I liked the most instead. These are my top 3:

1. DMZ #68
What I admire about DMZ is that it doesn’t cravenly avoid politics. And now that we’re at the 10th anniversary of 9/11, Brian Wood decided to jab at it in this issue with a line by Zee that goes: “How many political bonus points have been scored using these couple square blocks [Ground Zero] as a wedge?” That’s pretty bold, and I agree with what she said.

2. American Vampire #18
This issue is a major turning point for the series. I greatly enjoyed the encounter between Pearl and Skinner. What happened and what was said in that encounter were both shocking and memorable.

3. Detective Comics #881
If there’s anything can be said about this issue is that it really showcased Scott Snyder’s writing talent. He’s a genius (and nice guy too). That’s why he’s climbing ranks in DC. Now, I’m really excited to see what he’s going to do with the Batman reboot.

So, that’s my quickie. If you guys aren’t reading these books, by the way, you need to get them. DMZ is almost at its finale, and anything written by Scott Snyder is just epic.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bag of Comics #1

  1. gillboard says:

    i am so impressed by snyder’s writing. his detective comics got me to read batman. his swamp thing wasn’t as interesting for me, but i’d still follow it.

    American Vampire is intriguing, but i believe it’s batman where he shines the most.

Leave a Reply

