Distance

Sometimes, the closer you get to a person, the more you realize they’re out of your league. The girl that I like I’ve fallen in love with, for example. The more I know about her, the chasm that separates her from me becomes wider.

At 25, she’s already living with her boyfriend. At 25, I was still living with my parents.

At 24, She earned her Masters Degree in Physical Therapy. While I earned my Associates Degree at 26, and getting my Bachelors Degree is only but a plan.

She earned a college scholarship through swimming, and even had a couple of records at the MAC finals. I don’t know how to swim and drowned once.

Her beer of choice is Stella Artois, she hates Guiness. I like Guiness, I hate Stella Artois.

We’re just worlds apart, as you can see. But why do I continue on wriggling my way into her life? Why do I keep on chasing her? Because it feels right. Because she could teach me to swim. Because I could convert her into a Stella hater and Guiness drinker.

But, most importantly, all this distance I’m talking about is just borne out of my insecurities. They may not matter to her at all. I’ve given myself a chance, I’ll just wait for her to give me a chance.

4 thoughts on “Distance

  1. M says:

    Does she know that you love her? Maybe keep your perseverance and patience stay high. Who knows, your tables will turn and she’ll be the one to go after you.

    • Skron says:

      She knows that I like her because I asked her out once. But I keep my cool around her. I don’t want to give my feelings away and freak her out. I mean, we’ve only known each other for a couple of months.

  2. rah says:

    You don’t have to do it, but you are still doing it. That’s love I guess – when the happiness of the other person is essential to yours. Love moves in mysterious ways.

Leave a Reply

