You and I

One of my closest co-worker is moving to Colorado to be with her boyfriend. Since I missed her official going away party last Saturday, she invited me –and others– to lunch earlier today. The venue was at her favorite Thai restaurant, where she plan to overindulge herself for the last time before she leaves tomorrow.

The restaurant –which is in an open mall with a lot of upscale stores– was actually just a stone’s throw from my place. So, I went there early and wandered around for a bit. After 30 minutes of loitering, I swung by the restaurant to see if my friend was there. She wasn’t. But I found someone instead. It was my crush, the girl I’ve fallen in love with.

I was stupefied when I saw her standing outside the restaurant. I wasn’t expecting her to be there. As always, she looked pretty stunning. Her hair was up in a pony tail that made her neck look longer, sexier. She was wearing dark blue jeggings, a white motorcycle leather jacket with a white tank top inside, and a black open toe heel. Gawking at her for a second, my libido went up from -7 to 75.

It took me another 10 minutes to organize my thoughts and gather enough courage to approach her. But when she saw me walking towards her, she smiled at me –the same smile that made me fall in love with her– and I fell apart all over again. So, when I greeted her, I stuttered and probably sounded like a fool.

Since both of us came too early, we decided to hung out for a while and visit some stores. That’s when I realized that this was the first time I’ve been alone with her. We’ve hung out before but always with our friends or colleagues. I’ve asked her out on a date, twice, but she declined –because she’s already living with someone. So, right then and there, even for 20 minutes, I had her for myself. I was happy.

Before going back to the restaurant, we stopped by Urban Outfitters. Being a person who cares less about fashion, it was my first time to be in that store. So, I was surprised when I found out that they also sell vinyl records, which rekindled my desire to own a record player and start a record collection.

I was telling her how I’ve always wanted to start a vinyl collection while we both browsed through the store’s selection. She encouraged me to do it, then held an album in front of me: Washed Out’s Within and Without, and told me to start with it because it was good.

The album cover (pictured above) made me think that she was suggesting that I should make love with her. When I flipped the album and saw the titles “Amor Fati” and “You and I” on the track listing, I just lost it. It made me think that she was giving me hint. But I knew that I was being delusional. So, I shook it off of me.

When I regained my senses again, I saw my co-worker and her friends lining up outside the restaurant. I knew by then that my time with her was already up. So, I grabbed her and we went outside to join them.

When we left after lunch, I wanted to ask her out for the third time. Because the thought of her going back to her guy was killing me. But I fought the urge. I didn’t want to ruin the moment I had with her earlier that day. Third time’s the charm, they say. But it wasn’t the right time yet.

So, I just went home, downloaded Washed Out’s Within and Without, and listened to it the whole afternoon. It’s a great album and it reminded me of my time with her. It’s groovy, sexy, seductive and tender. Perfect to listen to while making love.

“You and I” by Washed Out

Tagged , ,

11 thoughts on “You and I

  1. I am now playing it in the background. I love your kind of music. Nice blog here. πŸ™‚

  2. we do usually know when the time is right and when it isn’t. our gut tells us. maybe third time’s the charm, if you wait it out. πŸ™‚

    good song btw.

  3. PM says:

    encounters like these are pretty awesome. it is unexpected, it exciting, it just makes you feel like a high school student once again. kudos for stifling the urge to ask her out. timing is indeed everything πŸ™‚

    • Skron says:

      I do feel like I’m a high schooler when I’m with her. The last time I feel in love this hard was years ago, when I was only 14.

  4. M says:

    based on your description, i imagine her as a super hot chick. kulang na lang kanin! kidding! πŸ™‚

    • Skron says:

      I wouldn’t really say she’s super hot.

      She’s more cute and sexy than super hot. More like a Natalie Portman type than a Scarlett Johanson.

  5. xion says:

    i thought at first it was lady gaga’s ” you and i ” single. haha
    hmm the last line rocks!! — i’ll try playing that song.

  6. gillboard says:

    thanks for joining!! although to qualify, you need to repost this skron. πŸ™‚

    i did reat this when you originally posted it a couple of months ago, and i know i commented here. hmmmm.

    • Skron says:

      It’s too early for this to be re-posted though. What if I grab some stuff from my older blogs? Will that work.

      If you wrote a comment here, it would’ve been posted, man. Should be automatic for you. Maybe you forgot to press the “Post Comment” button. Happens to me all the time.

Leave a Reply

