An Hour of Skyrim

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, one of my most anticipated games of this year, has finally arrived.

I’ve only spent an hour playing it. So, as an Elder Scrolls game, which always has a huge open-world, I probably haven’t scratched its surface. But, so far, I’m impressed with it already.

The intro was very cinematic, and I liked it a lot. It’s much better than Morrowind‘s and less dramatic than Oblivion‘s. I really felt anxious and confused as I woke up in the carriage, trying to figure out what has happened, while being dragged to an Imperial fort to be executed.

The graphics, like with all The Elder Scrolls games, is amazing. It helped with the immersion a lot. I loved how the environment changes. You’ll be on top of a foggy mountain and all you see is white and gray. Then, as you descend down the path, light gives way, making everything much more vibrant.

As for my character, I’m playing as a Male Nord. I’ve always played as a Nord on all The Elder Scrolls game. I like them because of their viking-inspired looks and qualities. One of the reasons I was excited about The Elder Scrolls V is its setting, which is in Skyrim, homeland of the Nords. So, I kinda feel at home here.

Like I said earlier, I’m impressed with the game. I’m also glad that my 3 year old machine (with a 5 months old GeForce GTX 460 graphics card) can still handle this game. It’s only on high settings though. But I can deal with that.

Now, let me get back to my game.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “An Hour of Skyrim

  1. gillboard says:

    5 more hours and I’ll be home. Can’t wait to play Gillboard the dark elf.

Leave a Reply

