More Skyrim

My appetite for gaming has waned since I picked up photography a few months ago. But The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim got my gaming engines up and running again. These past three days have been a blast playing it. While it didn’t have enough pull to keep me from going to a Mastodon concert, and watching Pacquiao’s fight or the Bears game, it did a good job in keeping me glued to my computer chair for most of the weekend.

So, what did a total of 24 gaming hours spent in Skyrim has yielded me? Nothing I can use in real life. But my in-game character is now at level 20, can transform into a Werewolf, forge anything Dwarven or Orcish, has killed 5 Dragons, learned a total of 6 Shouts, owns a house and a horse, and has a title of Thane in two holdings. Pretty impressive, right? And that’s just the beginning. I haven’t explored the entire land yet.

My Nord is becoming quite a formidable warrior-smith. He’s specialized in heavy armor, fighting with two-handed weapons, and has a lot of health. Melee is bit hard in this game though. Especially when you’re fighting flying dragons. So, I’ve equipped him with some lightning bolts and archery to hit the flying reptiles above. I’m also trying to work on his Enchant skills. That way, I can also enchant weapons and armors besides forging them.

Anyways, I’m really having a good time with Skyrim. It’s not as good as Deus Ex: Human Revolution or The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings, but it’s good enough to keep me glued to my PC again.

Addendum:
Apparently, a quarter million PC gamers are also having a good time with Skyrim. I mean, take a look at Steam’s stats today:

That’s insane. Record breaking insane. Even Modern Warfare 3 couldn’t come close to that number.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “More Skyrim

  1. gillboard says:

    I’m now a werewolf. I accidentally had a small clan of khajit killed by my shield brother. Almost died fighting off my 2nd dragon. And I just entered my 2nd city. I think I need to play some more. 🙂

    • Skron says:

      I never had a hard time fighting dragons. Just sucks when they’re flying. But when they’re grounded, I shave their health pretty quick. Giants, however, they hit pretty hard.

Leave a Reply

