It’s Getting Better (The Grammy’s)

The Grammy Awards and I really don’t get along well. They usually shun my music. But then, last year, something unexpected happened. My favorite album of 2010, The Suburbs, by the band Arcade Fire, also won Album of the Year at The Grammy’s. I almost fell out of my seat when they announced it.

Then this year, Bon Iver (pictured above), probably my most listened to artist this year, is also nominated for four Grammy’s, including Best New Artist, Record of the Year, Song of the Year and Best Alternative Music Album. I’m betting my next pay check that he’ll at least get one of these (possibly Best Alternative Music Album).

Even their Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance category looks better this year. Because they finally included Mastodon on it. Although, it’s still not quite right without Wolves in the Throne room on the list. But, I guess, putting that band on the Grammy’s is asking for too much.

So, does this mean that me and the Grammy’s are finally getting along? Hopefully, no. Because that would mean I’m not a punk anymore, that my taste in music has become refined, mature and boring.

Anyways, here are some songs from my favorite nominees:

Holocene” (nominated for Record of the Year and Song of the Year) by Bon Iver

Curl of the Burl” (nominated for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance) by Mastodon

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “It’s Getting Better (The Grammy’s)

  1. M says:

    it’s getting better indeed!

Leave a Reply

