Christkindlmarket Chicago

Yesterday, I finally made my way to the Christkindlmarket Chicago.

To those who aren’t familiar, Christkindlmarket is a German Holiday Market that takes place at the Daley Plaza, here in Chicago. It starts from Thanksgiving Day and ends at Christmas Eve. The market is open from 11 am to 4 pm on weekdays, and 11 am to 8 pm on weekends.

It’s a neat little market. Especially if you’re on the hunt for some holiday ornaments and gifts. Most of the wares sold here are handcrafted and are pretty unique. They have some wooden toy barbarian snowmen that I really liked. But the price was a bit steep for a frugalist like me. I did, however, bought a finely crafted and authentic German beer stein (pictured above) to give to my dad this Christmas.

In case you get hungry from shopping, there are also some German food vendors on the site. They were selling potato pancakes and bratwurst with sauerkraut. I, myself, bought and ate two bratwurst because I was starving, and mainly because I had a crush on the German cashier girl, who had the prettiest bluest eyes I’ve ever seen. Of course, since it was cold, I also drank a cup of warm and spicy Gluhwein, or German mulled wine, that is usually served during the Winter.

If you happen to be in Chicago this time of year, I invite you to visit Christkindlmarket. They have some cool things here that aren’t sold on Amazon or Wal-mart. The price are a bit high, but fair. Anyways, you’ll still have a blast browsing wares here. I know I did.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

