An Hour of Arkham City

I finally found sometime to wind down –before it gets really crazy next week– and play some Batman: Arkham City. So far, I’m really digging this game. Everything that I love about the first game, Batman: Arkham Asylum, are still here. The only difference between ‘Asylum’ and ‘City’ is, as the title suggests, the size. Arkham City is just 10 times bigger and better than Arkham Asylum.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to play a lot during the first hour. Because, for 20 minutes, I fiddled with the video settings and tried to figure out why my game was running slow (an average of 19 frames per second). So, I read up some stuff online and found out that this game is having issues when using DirextX 11. I turned DX11 off, and also disabled PhysX (which was set to normal at defeault). Now, my game is running at 80 fps and the graphics is still looks amazing.

With what time I had left, I was able to reach Catwoman’s part (where she needs to meet up with Poison Ivy). I must say, man, that I like how she moves. Like Batman, she can also jump from rooftop to rooftop. But the animation is way different, and she can crawl upside down on ceilings. In combat, she’s also much more agile. But she requires timing to pull some critical hits. I’m looking forward to play her more.

Batman: Arkham City seems like an awesome game, and possibly another “Game of the Year’ contender. Like its predecessor, Arkham Asylum, it’s also a great addition to the Batman franchise. So, I’m really looking forward to waste more of time playing this game. And also listening to Kevin Conroy’s voice.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

