Shooting Snow

Weather men have been dreading, saying that this Winter is going to be a hard one. But ever since December 22 (the official start of Winter), we’ve never had a huge snow here in Chicagoland.

Then, yesterday, we had 24-hours of non-stop snow. This is the first heavy snow this year. The snow fall wasn’t very thick though. But it snowed non-stop, from Thursday morning to Friday Morning, that it accumulated to 4-5 inches of snow on the ground.

Normally, being lazy of digging my car out of the cold white stuff, I’d be cursing when it snows. But, like I’ve said many posts ago, photography has changed the way I see things. So, when I saw snow falling outside my window yesterday, instead of whining about shoveling, I basked in the opportunity to shoot snowfall.

Unfortunately, since it’s my first time to shoot in a snowfall, I spent more time experimenting, adjusting my camera to proper settings and such. So, I wasn’t able to capture a lot of good images. But I finally settled with a fast shutter speed (1/500th), small aperture (f/11) and high ISO (1600). Since it was cold to be outside, I also shot the picture indoors using my Sigma 50-200mm medium telephoto lens (for the first time since November) and settled at 135mm focal length. Anyways, here are some of my shots:

This is my favorite so far, as you could see the snow flakes clearly. Though I wish the flakes could’ve been a bit bigger (No, not really. Because that would’ve been bad for shoveling).

The flakes are dense here, making the picture look grainy. Now you guys know where I live!

I also have one good image posted in my project 365 blog.

Anyways, that’s it for my snowfall pictures. It’s not that good. But now I know a bit about snowfall shooting. So the next time it snows, I know what to do.

Tagged , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Shooting Snow

  1. lovely to look at, but not something i’d like to be in

    • Skron says:

      The way you complain about the weather in Cali, you definitely don’t want to be in here now. Yesterday, it was -2 Celsius when I took this. Now, it’s -12 Celsius here.

  2. M says:

    i always wanted to visit chicago. hopefully in the NEAR future. give a little more time practicing and you’ll be done and perfecting snow pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

