Traipsing in Amalur: Reckoning Demo

The demo for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning dropped earlier today for all platforms (PC, PS3 and Xbox 360). Since this is one of my most anticipated games of 2012, I downloaded the demo for the PC and tried it out. My first impression: It’s a MSRPG –Massive Single-Player Role-Playing Game.

The game didn’t quite turn out as I’ve expected, leaving me a bit disappointed. But I can only blame myself since, upon hearing that Ken Rolston (Morrowind and Oblivion) is the executive designer of Reckoning, I just assumed that it would be a bit like an Elder Scrolls games, juiced up by Todd McFarlane’s art and R.A. Salvatore’s writing. But it didn’t feel and look like an Elder Scrolls game. In fact, it reminds me more of Fable and a lot of MMORPGs.

Reckoning’s likeness to Fable and MMORPGs lies from its open-world and graphics. Graphics wise, it’s not Skyrim. But I still think Todd McFarlane did a pretty awesome job directing the game’s artwork. Its cartoony art-style is very vibrant and alive. The colors in the game are bleeding. I didn’t see much of the game yet, however. But there are some pretty cool weapons and armor designs early on.

The combat in Reckoning is what sold the game. Next to the ‘Batman: Arkham’ franchise, this is probably the best combat system I’ve played. In one instance, I’ve wiped out a mob of six using bow, daggers and a lightning spell. Changing between those 3 types of attacks is just very fluid, very dynamic. It’s more than just the hack n’ slash I was expecting.

Its demo has definitely stated how awesome Reckoning will be. The graphics are good and the combat is excellent. The story, while the demo only offered a glimpse of it, seems promising. However, since I was expecting too much of it, the demo brought down the anticipation I had going on for this game. I’m still going to play Reckoning. But I’m going to pass until they slash its price in half.

If you haven’t tried the demo, then you should try it. It’s a good demo that includes a tutorial prologue and another 45 minutes of free exploration. This might just persuade you to buy it. If not, then play it for Mass Effect 3 in-game goodies. You can download the demo here.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Traipsing in Amalur: Reckoning Demo

  1. gillboard says:

    looking forward to play this game. this, ffxiii-2 and mass effect 3 are going to make me go bankrupt this first quarter of 2012.

Leave a Reply

