Gadget Budget

I splurged on a lot of expensive things last year, and most of which were unplanned purchases. Just to name a few, I bought a DSLR (and also two lenses for it), a cellphone to replace my broken one, and a guitar. Luckily, I had a nice raise back in September. So all these expenses didn’t left me with too much debt. Still, I wasn’t able to save as much as I would’ve liked in 2011.

So, this year, in order to avoid impulsive buying, I’m mapping out a budget plan for gadgets that I want. I did the same budget planning in previous years, and it seemed to work. Hopefully, this budget plan will keep me in line too, and also help me avoid unnecessary spending.

Anyways, here are some of the things that I want this year

Photo Editing Software: $200 to $600
I don’t like to edit my photos. But I have promised myself to learn how to do it this year. So, I’m gonna make this thing a priority and get one as soon as I can afford it.

I don’t know what I want yet, however. But a lot of photographers, veteran and newbie alike, has sworn by Lightroom. I’ve read a bit about it and it looks promising. Its price especially. Right now, I can also give Lightroom 4’s demo a spin, and see if I really want it.

On the other hand, Photoshop does more than just edit photos. Those features could come in handy in sprucing up my blog a bit. But I don’t know if I want to pay $600 for those features that are meant for web designers.

Computer Audio Interface: $140 to $200
One of the things I want to do this year is to record some guitar tracks. So, I need this thing to record digitally.

Like with the photo editing software, I don’t know anything about this gadget. But a lot of my friends have suggested to get any kind of M-Audio interfaces, which costs between $140 to $200.

All Around Camera Lens: $300 to $500
I own two lens right now: a Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 Prime Lens (which is my favorite) and a Sigma 50-200mm f/4-5.6 Medium Telephoto Lens. Now, I want an all around camera lens for traveling, that has a good range and can also take macro shots.

Right now, I got my eyes on a Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens and a Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 Lens. The Tamron is my main target. Although it’s a bit pricey. So, if I don’t have enough money left, I’d settle for the Cannon instead.

Laptop: $800 to 1,000
My desktop is turning 4 this year. But he still has a lot of fight left in him. But I’m planning to go back to school on Spring 2013. So, I need a laptop.

I don’t know what I want yet. But it’s for school, not for gaming. Also, it must be able to run photo editing and digital recording progams. It also has to have an i7 processor and at least 6 GB of RAM.

I’m also considering to get a MacBook, just because it’s good for audio recording, photo editing and those kind of things. But the price is too steep for me. So, I might just settle for a really good ultrabooks. I’m pretty sure some good ones will come out by the end of the year.

Record Player (and Speakers): $100 to $200
If you’ve read my bucket list, I wanted to start a record collection. So, hence, I wanted to buy a record player. But I’m not sure if I can afford one this year. We’ll see.

So, there are my gadget budget for 2012. Hopefully, I’d be able to get most of them.

What about you? Do you have any gadgets in mind that you want to invest in this 2012?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Gadget Budget

  1. gillboard says:

    they’re a bit pricey. this year i might stay away from gadgets as i have travel plans. well, probably some stuff for my camera, but that’s it.

  2. I’ll be going back to school again. It’s a good thing that I’ve already bought all the stuff (gadgets, clothes, books) I’ll need while I was working.

Leave a Reply

