Enjoying STO

It’s been more than a month since the last time I’ve played a game.

That is a bit hard to believe, I know. I can scarcely believe it myself. But I’ve got other distractions now. January was mostly spent on photography, the exercise bike, and re-reading A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings. I would’ve continued reading A Storm of Swords as well. But Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning comes out this Tuesday, and I want to devote most of my time playing the game. So, I took a recess from reading A Song of Ice and Fire.

But since I have a few more days before ‘Reckoning’, I looked for some free MMOs to pass my time. Star Trek Online (STO) grabbed my attention.

Star Trek Online was released back in February 2010 as a pay-to-play MMORPG. But, as of last month, like many struggling MMOs, STO followed the free-to-play model. So, now, the frugalist in me is jumping for joy.

I don’t know a lot about the Star Trek universe though. I don’t watch the shows and haven’t seen any of the movies except for the 2009, JJ Abrams reboot. But, with what little time a threw into it, I’m really digging this MMO right now. I loved the character creation and –even though slow– the ship battles.

Unfortunately, I only have a couple of days left to enjoy this game. Because ‘Reckoning’ comes out next week, Mass Effect 3 next month, and I still have three books from A Song of Ice and Fire to read. Plus, I really need to play Guild Wars and fill up my Hall of Monuments before the release of Guild Wars 2.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

