12 Hours of Reckoning

I haven’t done anything productive today. The reason for that is because Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning just hit the stores, and I’ve been playing it since this morning. The game is very enjoyable. So much that my ability to do anything has been nullified, and the intake of food and water has become optional to me again. It seems to me that I have another Skyrim on my hands. Uh-oh.

Reckoning is nothing like Skyrim, however. Yes, it has an open-world. Yes, it is addicting. Yes, its executive game designer (Ken Kolston) also made two Elder Scrolls games (Morrowind and Oblivion). But, other than that, the two games don’t have anything in common. In fact, Reckoning has put more focus into combat –an area in which Skyrim is weak– and less into polygon counts.

If you read my demo impression of Reckoning, I’ve mentioned I was going to skip this game until they put it on sale. But after playing the demo a couple more times, the game’s combat sold me. Next to the Batman: Arkham franchise, Reckoning has the most fun combat system that I’ve ever played. The number of weapons and the amount of abilities available to you are plenty. Mix all of those things up and you’ll become a virtuoso of the battlefield.

Reckoning is an awesome game. I put roughly 12 hours into it and I hardly even noticed it. Yes, the game is that fun and addicting. I’m really glad that I reconsidered buying the game at its release date. But, hopefully, me getting addicted to this game won’t ruin my other endeavors. Especially, my Project 366.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “12 Hours of Reckoning

  1. gillboard says:

    i’m going to get this game by next week. i’m excited for this!!!

    • Skron says:

      It’s a fun game, Gil. You can’t immerse on it like in Skyrim. But you’re gonna be looking for a lot of fights because they’re so fun.

Leave a Reply

