An Hour of Mass Effect 3

Mass Effect 3, my most anticipated game of 2012, is finally here! I’ve been wanting this game after I played its demo a few weeks back, and it’s been pre-loaded into my computer since Friday. So far, I’m not disappointed with this game. Then again, I’ve only spent an hour playing it. I have to stop playing in order to post this stupid one-hour game assessment that I usually do. Maybe I’ll find something to rant about, or rave about, sometime soon. But for now…my first hour impression.

Since I have the PC version of Mass Effect 3 (because I’ve been playing PC for so long that a PS3 controller feels alien to me), and it being published by EA Games, I have to was forced to use EA’s DRM software, Origin, to be able to install the game.

I don’t like the software one bit. For one, when I launched the game, it directly went to the game. It didn’t give me an option to access the configuration utility first, like Steam does. Secondly, I just don’t want too many digital distribution and DRM software on my system. Steam is good enough for me. But my choices were narrowed down to “Install Origin, Play Mass Effect 3” and “No Origin, No Mass Effect 3”. Like I said, I was forced to use it. But playing Mass Effect 3 will outweigh the bad that will come out from Origin. At least in the foreseeable future.

As for the game, I’ve only started the mission in Mars. So, I’m not that far into the game yet. It’s because, for the first 30 minutes, I’ve been stuck at the character creation screen, reconstructing the face of my Male Sheperd from ME1 and ME2 by memory. For some reason, ME3 couldn’t recognize the face code from my ME2 save file.

Unfortunately, since I played Mass Effect 2 more than two years ago, my memory’s pretty hazy of what my Sheperd looked like. I do know he looked like a Half-Asian though. So, I managed to create one that looks like a Japanese-Italian dude (pictured above). He’s ugly. Not worthy to make love with Lt. Cmdr. Ashley Williams. But I’m tired of spending time at the character screen. So, I went with him anyways.

So, what about you? What’s your Sheperd looks like?

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “An Hour of Mass Effect 3

  1. gillboard says:

    the reason i’m excited to play this game, is because i’m looking forward to see how kinect integrates to the game. i’d probably look like a fool, but damn, shouting out my next move is so cool!!!

Leave a Reply

