Q1 Resolutions Report

So, the first quarter of 2012 is done. By now, a lot of people have probably given up on their New Year’s Resolutions. Normally, I’d be one of those people too. But not this year, however. Thankfully, by keeping my resolutions simple, it was easy for me to follow through on them all.

Anyways, here’s a quick report on the progress of my resolutions.

More Creative, Less Geeky
My main goal this year is to reconnect to my artsier side by focusing on photography, guitar and audio recording. And then jettison some of the geek in me by playing less video games and reading less comics.

While I haven’t been diligent with my guitar practice, I’ve been really at it with photography. I’m still not that good though. But I’ve improved a bit. For one, I now know how to use my camera on manual settings. Then, thanks to Adobe Lightroom 4, I’m also getting a hang of photo editing. I’ve also manage to keep my Project 365 alive this far.

I’ve not yet started with audio recording though. But that’s only because I don’t have any money to buy a computer-audio interface yet.

More Exercise, Less Weight
I’ve been spending the first hour of my day by biking and resistance band training since January, and I’ve been doing this religiously. As a result, I’ve lost 10 more pounds.

More Sleep, Less Caffeine
This one was actually easier than I thought. It’s just a matter of getting it into habit. So, nowadays, I just sleep at 10 PM. Then wake up at 5 AM when I’m going to work, or at 6 AM when I’m off.

Coffee? What Coffee?

More Reading, Less Watching
Unfortunately, this one is a bit of a fail. Because, so far, I’ve only read 3 books (the first three books in the Song of Ice and Fire) and it’s a re-read too. Moreover, I’ve been watching a lot of anime on Netflix. But it’s only Q1, I’ve three more quarters to make up for my loss.

More Blogging
44 posts during the first quarter. It’s promising.

Overall, I’m giving myself a score of B. My blogging looks great and I feel great, health-wise. But no time to get complacent now. It’s only Q1 and I still need to spend more time on my books, guitar and camera though, and spend less time playing games and watching anime.

What about you? Are you still keeping your resolutions?

Tagged

Leave a Reply

