Bag of Comics #5

Comics take up a small fraction of my life now. Years ago, I was spending more than $100 each month on comics. Now, since I’m only following 11 series, I spend less than $30 a month. In order to save more money, I ship all my comic book orders at the end of the month. The picture above are the comic books that were released in March.

Since I’m too lazy to write a full review of all the comic books I just read, I’m gonna do a quickie of the top 3 that I liked the most instead. These are my top 3:

1. Saucer Country #1
When Vertigo launches a new series, I always add them to my list. Why? Because they don’t disappoint. Such is the case with Saucer Country. As the title suggests, the series is about aliens –both that came from the outer-space and the ones that migrated to the United States. This is not just science fiction as it also examines the political and social problems of immigration in the US.

2. The Manhattan Projects #1
Johnathan Hickman has always dazzled me with his high concepts in S.H.I.E.L.D. and The Nightly News. So, it didn’t surprise me that his new series would be full of interesting ideas as well, and he did it just by pluralizing the brain trust that gave us the atomic bomb, The Manhattan Project. This book is an alternate history of The Manhattan Project, in which building the atomic bomb is just a smoke screen to hide the many, madder scientific pursuits of the brain trust –from A.I. development to reverse engineering alien technology.

3. American Vampire #25
One of the reasons why Scott Snyder is my favorite comic book writer is because he knows how to wrap his stories while, at the same time, also prepares for the next arc. Remember Detective Comics #881? What material he left in that issue could be used in the next 10-15 issues. This is the same in American Vampire #25. The revelations in here expanded AV’s lore and could launch 2-3 more story arcs. Brilliant.

Well, those are my top 3 comics for the month of March. If I may ask, what were your top 3 issues last month?

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Bag of Comics #5

  1. gillboard says:

    mine were:

    Fantastic Four / FF
    Wolverine and the X-Men
    Batman

    • Skron says:

      I want to read the future foundation but I don’t want to add stuff to my ever decreasing pull list. But, Batman, issue #7 was so freaking good too. I’m excited to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

