Full Circle, Almost

I’ve mentioned it once or twice in this blog, that I only got into photography because I fell in love with a girl. I know it sounds stupid. But when I saw her, I just had to do something productive. Photography was the answer.

It’s been 10 months since I impulsively bought my camera. A lot has happened since then. I’ve gotten close to this girl, closer than I thought possible. While she has a boyfriend, I’m just happy to sit on the sidelines…for now, at least. My photography has also improved a bit. My Project 366 is still going, and I’ve finally shared some of my photos on Facebook. To my delight, a lot of my colleagues and friends liked my work. I’ve received a lot of positive feedback from them.

My boss also saw my work and asked me if I could take pictures of my co-workers for Nurses’ Week. I happily agreed to her request, of course. Because my co-workers, the’yre all good looking. They were hesitant, at first. But once they saw the shots they started cooperating, and even enjoyed it.

I just took a group shot of the nurses when she came into our unit, the girl. While she’s the reason why I was holding a camera that day, why I was into photography, I haven’t taken her picture at all. I never have my camera with me whenever she’s present. When I do have my camera, then my courage to her ask for a picture isn’t around. But, that day, I just approached her casually and ask her to pose with one of the nurses. She said yes, and I almost fainted.

One of our nurses (L) and the girl (R).

I pretty much poured everything I’ve got into this picture. After all, this is my first picture of her. She hated it though. She didn’t like her “end of the day” look, I guess. But, that’s what I like about her most. Even though her hair is disheveled and her make up needs retouching, she still looks pretty.

So, I’ve almost come into a full circle. I’ve taken the picture of the girl who got me into photography. But just almost though. Full circle is when I take a picture of us, together. When will that happen? I don’t know. It might not even happen. But, right now, even it’s just a little, I still have hope.

6 thoughts on “Full Circle, Almost

  1. PM says:

    pretty girl! 🙂

  2. i think i see where the attraction comes from, not only is she attractive, but she has that ooomph that not every woman has. you captured her beautifully, she doesn’t look guarded.

    • Skron says:

      She’s an attractive girl and she also carries herself pretty well. That’s what separates her from other girls at work, who are far more prettier than her. She’s got this open-mindedness and quiet confidence that makes her so approachable.

  3. newbiehobbit says:

    I enjoyed reading this post as it reminds me of how I became the guitarist I am now, I know exactly what you mean when you write you had to do something active, keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

