Thin Air

I love metal. But no matter how much I try, I could never get into doom metal. Hence, for years, I’ve avoided Anathema’s work.

Recently, however, their latest album, Weather Systems, have been getting a lot of good reviews. One reviewer also mentioned that they’re a different band now. So, I checked them out and saw this video of them, which is a stripped-down live performance of the band, playing their song “Thin Air”. It’s really beautiful.

This was not the Anathema that I knew from back in the 90’s, not anymore. They’re a completely different band now, playing what’s sounds to me like Pink Floyd-ish progressive rock instead of doom metal, and I really like it. I guess I’ll have to get their new album and then follow their work after they shifted from doom metal.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

