My Summer Reading List

With 90 degree temperatures baking Chicago, and the Memorial Day behind us, Summer has already started unofficially. That means I only got one more season left for fooling around before I go back to school. So, I’m going to make the most of this Summer. I’ll squeeze every fun I could get out of it.

Like last year, with school expenses and all, I’ll be too poor to travel. So, I’ll just stay local, go see concerts and hang out with friends. I’ll also bury myself in books, before I bury myself in textbooks when the semester starts this Fall. I know I gave up books to minimize my hobbies. But, during Summer, my room gets too hot from around 2 PM until the sun sets. So, I can’t play video games in there. With nothing else left do, I’d rather read.

I’m not going to challenge myself this time, however, like I did last summer. I’m just going to read as much as I can.

I’d start re-reading some of those old favorites that I haven’t read in a while:

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
1984 by George Orwell
Animal Farm by George Orwell
The Once and the Future King by T.H. White
A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin

Then, I’d read my backlogs:

Feast For Crows by George R.R. Martin
A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin
Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner
Everything Matters by Ron Currie Jr.
Great House: A Novel by Nicole Krauss

And, if time and money allows, I’d finish the Summer by reading some new books:

Behind The Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo
The End of Money by David Wolman
The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura
Quiet by Susan Cain
Trapeze by Simon Mawer

So, these are the list of books for my summer reading. I probably won’t read them all. But I hope that I, at least, knock the first 10 books.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “My Summer Reading List

Leave a Reply

